Calcutta High Court

The Calcutta High Court is the oldest court ever. It is established in the form of the high court of the Judicature of the fort William on the 1st of July 1862. This has taken place as part of the High Court Acts in the year 1861. The court has the jurisdiction on the state of West Bengal and even on the Union Territory which is the Andaman and Nicobar Island. This was made possible by the attempts of the Supreme Court of Judicature at the Fort William. The design of the building of the High Court is according to the Cloth Hall Ypres in Belgium.

The Description of the Court

The sanctioned judge strength of the court is 63. Even after the name of the city has been changed from Calcutta to Kolkata, the name of the court remains the same and it is the Calcutta High Court, The seat of the court is Kolkata and this is the capital of West Bengal. As according to the Calcutta High Court Act which happened in the year 1953, the jurisdiction of the High Court would be extended in order to cover the Chandannagar and also the Andaman and Nicobar Islands on the 2nd of May 1950. The Circuit Bench of the Calcutta High Court was extended to Port Blair and this is the capital of Andaman and Nicobar Island. The same includes the area of Jalpaiguri as well.

About the Chief Justice

The present Chief Justice of the court is Manjula Chellur. Barnes Peacock became the first chief justice of the Calcutta High Court. The charge of the court was taken on the date of finding and that is 1st July 1862. Romesh Chandra Mitter is declared to be the first Indian official Chief Justice and it was Phani Bhushan Chakravartti who acted as the first Indian permanent chief justice of the High Court. The Chief Justice who served for the longest period was Sankar Prasad Mitra.